Monday Workout & Weekend Competition recap

I had a great time Saturday at the Delta Throwdown at the Agricenter in Memphis. It has been a while since I have done any competitions because I am at a point in CrossFit where I can do most skills but ring muscle ups and RX divisions usually has those in them. This local competition did not have rings or a rig so it was barbells, medballs, Double Unders ect. My partner was the owner of Flagcity Crossfit in Millington, TN. She is a seasoned Crossfitter whom is amazingly strong! I admire her strength! Our first WOD was to find a Max deadlift in 2 pulls. This was a little ridiculous to me because we could warmup prior to competition but there was still a significant time period till some competitors went. I am no a strong Deadlifter! After this workout I made a vow to work on this movement as a priority. My parter pulled a max of 295 which was 5 lb off her previous PR but me I pulled ONLY 235. This matched my previous PR but is still very low for my body weight of 135. This put us in 5th after first event. 2nd event was 1600m medball run with OHS and burpees over the bar.we did very well. We won our heat and ended up in 2nd after this event. Third event was karen and we could do no more than 25 reps each while the other held a #95 bar. We flew through this one and I think we got the fastest female time. Still in 2nd though, it took us into the finals. Here our last workout was 200 Double unders and Double Grace. We flew through Double Unders, I did much better than I expected on these, doing a set of 50 and a set of 60. The mistake I made was dropping the barbell after each rep of clean and jerk . Not because it was heavy but I fear hurting my back bringing the weigh down. I am definitely going to add touch and go clean and jerks at #95 to my list of items to overcome! I was proud to have placed 2nd in this at 38 years of age! I hung in there with the younger people! Never gave up and gave all I had! It was definitely a great time and had great advice given to me by my Crossfit coach a Justin LaMance. I look forward too more competitions, maybe a  weightlifting one next as I try and improve my strength and give it the attention it needs!

Here are some pics from the competition. 








Monday’s Workout:

I did a similar version of Crossfit Hit & Run’s workout of the day with some varying due to personal needs and in the conditioning I had my 8 year old workout with me😊

Warm Up

Row 500 m

Dynamic Drils : leg swings, arm circles, jumping jacks, ankle pulses, overhead tricep stretch ( front rack mobility) and Spider-Man stretch.

Then 2 Rounds

  • Ring Row x 5 @ 21X1
  • OHS x 10
  • Double Under x 15

Workout of the Day

A. 4 Sets        

  • Front Squat x 4-6 reps @ 20X1 – Rest 60 seconds 115,125,135 all with 6 reps and 145 for 4 reps
  • Double Under x 30-40 or max reps in 30 seconds – Rest 60 seconds I did 50, 63, 70, 50
  •  False Grip Ring Row (as horizontal as possible) x 8-10 reps @ 21X1 – Rest 60 seconds . I am close to getting muscle ups but having trouble with transition at top and stability once up there. I did  8  then 10 each for the rest sets. 
  • Weighted Hip Bridges & leg lifts x 10 each

B. Conditioning 

Me :

Complete 3 rounds for time of:

  • Row 500
  • Double Under x 30
  • KBS x 20 # 35
  • Pistols x 10 ( 5 per)

I did this in about 13:00min

 My Daughter:

4 rounds for time of:

  • Jump rope singles x 10
  • Sit-ups x 10
  • Burpees x 10
  • KB swings x 10
  • Mountain climbers x 20

She finished a few second ahead of 10 min! 

She of course cheered me on😉


Leave a Reply

